July 31, 2005

Pictures and Databases

Posted in Commentary at 7:16 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

Since I put about 500 gig of disk space online and since I finally got Tiger yakking to the Windows 2003 server, I have been putting all my digital images in one place. Fancy that, I’m getting organized ๐Ÿ™‚ But, at last count I have over 25 gig of pictures!! So just having them all sitting there is not going to work very well. Enter a Mac (and Windows) application called “Portfolio 7.0” from Extensis. This is a very cool piece of software for gathering up all these pictures and making nice groups and digging out the metadata and even adding custom fields. So far I have been impressed with it but the cost is a bit much at 200 bucks a copy. Ouch! But, I have yet to find anything else that works as well. I just used it to gather all of the past 6 months worth of baby pictures into a single place, add the date of the shoot, make a self running slideshow CDR and print out the contact sheet. All without having to pick up the directions once. I guess I should not complain too much about the cost.. but it still hurts. They have a product called the Photo Imaging Suite which looks nice but it’s *only* 499.95.. come on people, say the truth, it’s FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS!!! forget the lousy headgame of the 99 and 95s.

Now, in their favor, the added software does sound impressive. A app to scale up a print 1600 % and not lose quality? I knew I should have studied my math in school ๐Ÿ™‚ Photoshop plugins for frames and masking. And lets be honest, in PS, masks are your friends! So maybe Christmas will come early.

Yah know, this damn Mac is getting expensive with all the cool software I have to buy ๐Ÿ™‚ Still, I dont miss the crashes and AV/Spyware crap at all.

Leave a Reply

