August 17, 2005

Play that funky iPod now

Posted in Commentary at 7:07 am by Michael Sweeney Media

One of my grips about my iPod, and there are only a few, is that I can not natively copy my songs from the iPod to the PC or Mac. Hard drives are fickle devices and they die when they want and the iPod has one of these fickle devices built into it. So it is very hard to understand why any decent engineer would not put in the option to migrate songs FROM the iPod to the host in an easy to use manner. Well, enter Findley Designs and their software “iPod Access 3.5“. Be still my beating heart 🙂
Here is a niffty piece of software that lets me backup all my music to my Mac from my Windows formatted iPod and then I can add, move or change to my heart’s desire. I was able to dump my current 15 gig iPod which only has 5 gig on it in just a few minutes. And everything played.. the ripped music, the bought music, the audible books(after I activated the mac for them) Score one for the consumer.. They even have a version for Windows if you are interested in that or like myself, live in an alter world half the time.

My other pet project right now is to turn my Mac into a music file streamer so I can get to my music over the internet. The solution I’m working with right now is VideoLAN which is a open source project with a OSX native client/server. It can play or stream virtually any video or sound format and since the Mac is virtually immune to all the nasty script-kiddie shit out there for IIS, it only makes sense to use it as the webserver. Who knows, I may end up with a few more Macs around here yet 🙂 Dont tell the wife..

Right now I have just downloaded VideoLAN and will be installing it shortly and see if I can get it to play my tunes.

1 Comment »

  1. Axel Roest said,

    One of my grips about my iPod, and there are only a few, is that I can not natively copy my songs from the iPod to the PC or Mac.

    I think there’s only one reason for this: RIAA.


Leave a Reply

