October 4, 2005

Start Your X

Posted in Commentary at 10:20 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

I finally got the Mac to push out X applications via SSH. I did not know for a while that tunneling X was off by default on the OSX’s sshd config. So the following two lines are needed:

sed ‘s/#X11Forwarding\ no/X11Forwarding\ yes/’ /etc/sshd_config > /tmp/sshd_config

and then
sudo mv /tmp/sshd_config /etc/.

Now I can push out applications via SSH just like I do with my Linux boxes.

More details can be had at:

http://developer.apple.com/qa/qa2004/qa1383.html

I have tested this with RedHat, Fedora Core2 and Cygwin. All work well.

Leave a Reply

