November 27, 2005

A Peek here and there

Posted in Commentary at 6:44 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

While I really like ethereal and I REALLY like the fact it’s free, it is hard to beat commercial products at times. I am (was?) certified for the old NAI Sniffer product but my favorite sniffer is called Etherpeek. I’ve used on Windows mainly but I saw the other day it was available for OSX. Hmmmm, thought he.. something new to play with 🙂 The interface is pretty clean and a bit different than the windows version. On the first past I did not see the “expert” piece that Etherpeek NX has. But, no loss, most times these “experts” are wrong anyways. I have a couple of screen captures and as I play with it more, I will add more.

One of the best things is that Ethereal does not support the wireless card but Etherpeek does so I’m able to sniff a wireless connection but not the actual nuts and bolts of the wireless protocols. This is one time I will settle for half a loaf.

Leave a Reply

