February 10, 2006

Mini Recovery

Posted in Commentary at 9:00 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

Sounds like one of those spam ads doesn’t it? Well, not exactly. I have been running my Mac mini as an email server using the Postfix enabler with decent success. But, the mini was bought used and it came with 10.4 loaded and I have been too lazy to whack it and reinstall a clean system. The fires over here did it for me, the power bounced a few times too many for the mini which was not on a UPS as it was in a “temporary” location. OSX would get to the blue screen and that was it. If I was lucky it would drop into a non-x windows session but refuse to accept my username or any username so a reinstall was forced on me. The good news was that I did not have very much at all on the mini. But in starting the reload at 11:30pm, I neglected to notice that the disk I grabbed was 10.3… oops~! So now, whack it or upgrade? How bad could it be with an upgrade? Loaded 10.4 as an upgrade and everything seemed to work except fetchmail. No way, no how was fetchmail going to fetch anything, much less my mail. #*(@@)@^#%#… whack the mini AGAIN and install 10.4 from scratch.. now the world is right and fetchmail works. Postfix enabler had my email server back up in five minutes from the time I mounted the DMG file.

While all this was going on, I needed a server for a few days so I went to my ex- Small Biz server which is now plain old Windows 2003 server after SBS self-destructed and installed a free server. hMailserver is a freebie Windows mail server with POP and IMAP plus it intergrates with ClamAV for windows. For free!!! how cool is that? You can get it at http://www.hmailserver.com/ and be excited when you find out it supports virutal domains, MySQL and many other “high end” features. See the list:

  • POP3, SMTP, IMAP
  • Virtual domains
  • Built-in backup
  • Scripting (VBScript)
  • External accounts
  • Rules
  • Multilingual
  • AntiVirus
  • Spam protection
  • Routing
  • MX backup
  • Load balancing
  • Mirroring
  • Multihoming
  • SQL-support

Not too shabby for a freebie open source project. I still like my Mini but damn, this Windows app runs a close second.

I also learned that having a non-Apple keyboard when troubleshooting non-booting OSX sucks. I needed the apple key for a few commands and the PC keyboard is just SOL at the boot stage. Oh well…

Leave a Reply

