October 25, 2006

Time keeps passing me by

Posted in Commentary, OSX Technical at 9:03 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

Or How sloooow Time Machine is:

So I’m sitting here with the newest version of pre-release Leopard and not much else to since I have no life, I decide to upgrade my “old” Leopard installation on my Powerbook. So I crank it up and think to myself, “self, you have a external HD crying to be used and tested”. So I grabbed my new 120 gig drive, split it into two partitions ready to be used as the backup drive. I reboot, go to the installer and when asked if I wanted to backup my disk before I install the new version, I click yes and wait. And wait, and wait and wait.. right now after an hour, Leopard is telling there is more than TEN hours of backing up to do. WTF???? THis time machine is flipping slooooow. I am debating whether to skip it or let it run out because I really would like to test it. But my god, 13 hours to snap a 40 gig system? This is not going to be pretty Apple..

Back to staring at the slowness of time..

Update:

I tried again but running locally with the new version of Leopard installed. Still slow as hell. Now it is sucking up an average of 95% CPU and not moving very much data very fast. I hope this is not a sign of the times…

Update #2:

I let the TimeMachine run all morning and in spite of the 10 hours it was saying to me, it was done in less than 5 hours. I wonder if the initial scan is slow because it is the first time? I am trying to auto backup tonight. The restore interface is pretty cool. Simple enough that you dont need directions if you are willing to click around a few times. My quick and easy test restore worked fine. I also see that you can manually drill into the backup and I think you can just copy out the files. I have not tried it yet, I’m pretty tired after the one year old decided to get up at 3:30am today 😦

Leave a Reply

