January 9, 2007

Happy Birthday to me!

Posted in Commentary at 7:23 am by Michael Sweeney Media

I finally cracked, I could not stand the pressure.. I’m weak and I know it. I broke down and bought a new Nikon D80 10.2MP Digital SLR Camera Kit with 18-135mm AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens as a Merry Xmas/Happy Birthday/Just because I can present. I have been wanting a digital SLR every I went to digital photography which was in 1999 with a Nikon 950. But at the time, a SLR was several THOUSAND dollars. It has only been in the past year that the prices have come down enough to be “reasonable” for the enthusiast like myself to be to afford one. And I have to say that the D80 is an awesome shooter. I have to get used to the plastic body, this is not an F1 which could doubles as a weapon but it doesnt feel as cheesy lightweight as say, a Minolta. But it is still plastic and the jury is out on how well it will last. But I understand all too well that unlike the F1 or any other high end film SLR that was expect to last YEARS, the life span of a digital camera, even an SLR, is measured in 3-5 years tops. So it may not matter very much in the end.

The camera does have a nice “heft” to it and the 18-135mm zoom lets the camera lay in your cupped hand just as it should for stead shooting. I did some test shots on full automatic and I was seriously impressed. Outstanding depth of field ( my 828 Sony has crap for DOF), a great “click clunk” when the shot is taken, very good color accuracy and even the built in flash works pretty well given it’s diminutive size. When I loaded the images into iPhoto, it tool much-less color correction (the Sony was always too red) and not as much sharpening. Most of this comes from the fact that the Sony chip is very small vs. the Nikon sensor chip. And Sony used a weird four color sensor unlike the more common three color sensor. They are not bad pictures but the Nikon’s is noticeable better out of the box. A bitch is that after spending 1200 bucks, Nikon could not include a small SD card. I wonder how many people get caught buying this and finding out that they cant use it right away because they didnt buy a stupid SD card with it. Bad idea Nikon.

I will post some pictures and also a short review on DxO Optics and using it with the new Nikon. It worked wonders on the Sony and so I have high hopes. Also coming will my notes on Page Sender FAX center , Desktastic and FotoMagico (the beta)

Leave a Reply

