August 30, 2007

It’s been a while

Posted in Commentary, OSX Software at 8:02 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

I have been neglectful of my blog but circumstances dictate this. But, we are back with a few items of interest. My PVR made from a Mini is working very well and I have included a picture of said PVR with the AppleTV.

pvr-resized.jpg

I stayed up to shoot a few images of the lunar eclipse a few days ago. I used some cool software called “FocusFixer” to clean up the images which were a bit soft even with the tripod. This software and LightZone have been my newest toys to play with and my standby of Photoshop. Here is an image of the moon with the elipse.

eclipse-2-resized-80.jpg

The only post processing was using FocusFixer and CS3 to adjust the exposure a bit. LightZone is fast becoming a favorite tool of mine to adjust my raw images. I mean, Lightroom is nice and all that but LightZone is just so easy to use and gives excellent results. Here is a picture I took inside the Pirates of the Caribbean ride and then adjusted using only LightZone. If you have not tried LightZone, you owe it to yourself to try it.

dsc-0120-lzn-v2-resized.jpg

AT&T made me a deal for a DSL connection that was hard to pass up. Twenty five bucks a month for 3Mbps/512Kbps using DSL. The cool part was the 2 minute install/configuration of the 2Wire modem that SUPPORTED OSX 🙂 About damn time someone decided to support Windoze and OSX. And it seems to be stable but I have not yet given up my cable modem for just DSL.

Other toys of late are 1Passwd for a secure locker of all my webpage passwords, Yojimbo for my collections of information and YEP for managing all my PDFs of which I have MANY.

I also will be at the Photoshop convention at Las Vegas next week along with a few thousand other Photoshop addicts 🙂 This has been the only thing keeping me sane these past few weeks between personal life issues and work.

Leave a Reply

