December 19, 2008

New Year – New Beginings

Posted in Commentary at 10:00 pm by Michael Sweeney Media

So some of you know that I am making the move from amateur to a more professional photographer, even if it’s part time for a long while. I managed to kick it off with a cool shoot with Johnny Rockets to do a series of portraits with their newest director, Joe Theismann, from the “Skins”. Yep, that one, with the leg going in the wrong direction on national TV during a game. So this gig ended up with about 10 delivered images out of about 150 taken. All were “strobist” style, ie, I used a pair of SB800s plus daylight. I shot this with a rented 17-55mm F2.8 and my D80. This combo worked really well inside the stores plus the outside. I ended with a half day rate plus some to do the basic post production touch ups.

So for the new year, I promised myself to start to shoot weddings. Pain and suffering will be my lot in life for a while I’m sure but to that end, I bought a new D90 (love it!!!) and a pair of used lenses from eBay. A 17-55mm F/2.8 and a 12-24mm F/2.8, both Nikon glass. Between the depressed prices and some coupons from eBay, I managed to get both lenses for the same price (roughly) as getting two new third party lenses like Tokina or Tamron.

Now I’m shopping around for “rent a brides” to practice shooting brides and grooms. I am serious thinking about shadowing a few weddings at the local church to get in some practice.

I have also been working with Photoshop to expand my skills a bit and this is what I came up with. My first “out of border” or “out of bounds” image. I had Amanda get her picture taken holding a cup of coffee for part of our Xmas card and I thought it might make a good image to try this one.

amanda-xmas-cup-oob.jpg

Leave a Reply

